January 10, 2009

Recycling yarn

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:00 pm by Pink

I went to Goodwill today with my boyfriend to look for random stuff–it occurred to me, then, that this might be the time to try looking for sweaters in colors and textures I like to gank the yarn from.

I ended up buying 5 sweaters, $4 each: two to wear, three to unravel.

Sweater #1 is light green, a 40% cotton/60% acrylic blend, and about halfway frogged.

It’s all handknit so once I can undo the seams–the person who seamed this was AMAZINGLY thorough, to the buyer’s pleasure and my annoyance!–unraveling it is relatively simple. It’s (was?) an extra-large and full of cables, so there’s a lot of yarn to be harvested.

Sweater #2 is a burnt orange, 100% acrylic, and terribly, terribly soft. I tried to get a picture of it, but the color is really, really hard to capture, so all the pictures were crap. It’s kind of close to this color, however.

Sweater #3… sweater #3 was an incredibly lucky find. It is the most stunning pale robin’s egg blue, 58% silk, 29% nylon, 13% angora.

I’m not 100% sure whether the seams are handknit or not, so I’ll have to figure that out before I try ripping it apart, but we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

