January 11, 2009

Yarn reclamation continues

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:42 am by Pink

The green sweater is now fully frogged and balled–I’m gradually skeining it and washing them gently in hot water to dekink them. I’m not really sure how well it’s working.

I made one mistake: I sort of forgot that, ah, cotton shrinks in heat. Oops. I took the green yarn, soaked it in hot water, wrung it out since it’s sturdy enough to withstand it and I’m not worried about felting, then tried to stretch it back over the rack I was using. SHOCKINGLY, it was now too small, so I settled for resting it on the diagonal to dry until I can figure out some way to stretch it so it unkinks itself.

What I really need is either a circle with a crank that expands/contracts its radius, or something built in the shape of a compass (the kind you use to draw circles), with flat arms at the end of the angle-lines so that as you increase/decrease the angle, the distance between the vertical arms increases/decreases respectively, so that I can put yarn on it then expand it until it’s gently stretched straight. I’m not sure if something like that even really exists.

I wonder if I can find two, like, heavily weighted paper towel holders to stretch it between.

I started trying to frog the orange sweater, but the seams are awful and the yarn is far more fragile than it appeared, so I think I’m going to end up sewing it onto a pillow or something and cutting the seams. It’s just not worth the effort, which is sad, because the color and texture is stunning.

Leave a Reply

